LiberryDwarf

December 27, 2010

Meme Monday: Yet Another Book Meme

Filed under: Books, Memes — liberrydwarf @ 4:09 pm

(pinched off NewGradLibrarian)

1. Do you remember learning to read? How old were you?
I don’t remember learning to read – Mum tells me it was quite early – four, I think? I do clearly remember reading Asterix comics at around 6 or 7 years old…
2. What do you find most challenging to read?
Old Sci-Fi and Mystery. (Pre-1970’s). Where the type’s that funny font, the pages are yellow and heavy, and the proof-reading is pretty much non-existent.
3. What are your library habits?
I use the public library for kid’s books for my Scout group. Almost never borrow for myself, except for non-fiction (cookbooks, and recently some pregnancy books) as I have far too much unread fiction at home…
4. Have your library habits changed since you were younger?
I think my library use decreased as my income increased 🙂 Or my free-time-while-library-is-open time decreased. I used to be at the school library every afternoon in highschool, and the public library pretty much every second weekend.
5. Has social media changed your reading life?
I do a lot of trading – things I have and have already read for other things I’m looking for, completing series and things. I think that’s probably broadened what I read, but pretty much killed my library use. Blog/forum posts etc have also given me too many new book ideas!
6. What percentage of your books do you get from new book stores, second hand books stores, the library, online exchange sites, online retailers, e-books, other?
I buy almost nothing new – pretty much everything is from online exchange or online retailers like BookDepository, or a serendipitous find at a second-hand book fair or stall. Haven’t gone down the eBook path – I like my books nurseable, flick-through-able and able to accompany one in the bath 🙂
7. What are your pet peeves about the way people treat books?
I’m terrible with them, so not in much of a position to judge…
8. Do you read for pleasure or for work?
Books – for pleasure. For work, mostly articles or blog posts. I have yet to come across anything in a professional book that hasn’t been horribly outdated and useless 🙂
9. When you give people books as gifts, how do you decide what to give them?
Other authors they’ve liked, genres they tend towards, topics we’ve discussed over the years. I try not to give things I loved, as that’s no guarantee they’ll love them too, and if they don’t it might be a bit awkward…

1 Comment »

  1. […] from liberrydwarf, as […]

    Pingback by Reading Meme – Meme Monday « Stuff — January 4, 2011 @ 8:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

