LiberryDwarf

October 22, 2010

Friday Wrap-up: Performance, Proofreading and Pre-eclampsia

Filed under: Education, Health, Librarian — liberrydwarf @ 1:44 pm

The week that was!

1) One Good Thing: Had a nice annual performance review, lots of praise from the boss. Performance reviews mean next-to-nothing at most places, and even less at ours given we have to redo them in January anyway because of our restructure-by-any-other-name, but it was nice to hear that people think I’m doing a good job.

2) One Bad Thing:  I got the date wrong for my students to submit their assignments (typo-wrong – and discovered early so it’s not a big drama.) But not only are they now of the opinion that I’m a brainless twit, they now also have an extra 2 day extension to make up for the typo, which gives me less time to mark their work and I’m going to use up all my weekend time now 😦

3) One Thing I Learned: far too much about pre-eclampsia. Now I am stressed out about it, since I have pretty rubbish blood-pressure to begin with and run a pretty high risk of it getting worse. None of which helps the blood pressure. Vicious cycle!

 

1 Comment »

  1. What will be will be, just keep getting your blood pressure checked and that will help you keep yourself sane! As I understand it, even if your bp is naturally high it doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll definitely get pre-eclampsia.
    I gather the big defining sign to look out for is getting a puffy face to match your ankles.

    Hang in there.

    Cheers

    BC

    PS don’t worry about the assignment date, I’m sure a two day extension means your students will love you.

    PPS sorry I haven’t been around. Was launching a novel.

    Comment by babychaos — October 26, 2010 @ 5:04 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

