LiberryDwarf

September 13, 2010

Meme Monday: The Cooking Meme

Filed under: Food — liberrydwarf @ 10:15 am

1. What is the best dish you can cook?

I make, in my own humble opinion, the most kick-ass Spaghetti Bolognese ever. The secret is bacon.

2. Do I have to beat eggs or can I whip them gently? Sounds so violent to me.

Hahaha – I’m actually pretty terrible at beating eggs either way. I don’t have the patience, particularly for egg whites.

3. I am reading a recipe right now for Hearty Beef-n-Cheese Pie from a recipe book I dug out of the cabinet. The instructions read…”Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In large frying pan, brown ground beef, onion and green pepper.”
I am already lost. Why must I turn on the oven and put the frying pan in it? And how does one turn beef AND peppers brown at the same time?!
What color should the onion be?

Good gracious, what was your mother DOING when you were a teenager? Turn off the oven and head straight to YouTube for basic cooking classes. Or, alternatively, to Pizza Hut.

4. Did you ever cook something for your family that no one enjoyed and you had to throw out?

More than once. My most memorable was a Moroccan meatball casserole which called for 2tsp sugar. At that stage I was dieting, and chose to use artificial sugar substitute instead. Didn’t read the instructions that 1 drop = 1 tsp, put in a whole 2 teaspoons, and the resulting mess was so sickly sweet even the dog wouldn’t eat it.

5. Why do all recipes say “mix sugar, flour and salt?” Don’t they cancel out the other?

I leave salt out of most things for health reasons, so I’d ignore this anyway. I always assumed that salt was either for PH balance or chemical reaction to make things lighter and more airy anyway.

6. Why must you add eggs “one at a time” to a mixing bowl? Does anybody really know the answer to this question?

I don’t know anyone who’s physically capable of cracking more than one egg at once anyway 🙂 I’m sure there’s a fancy reason to do with correct consistency and stuff though.

7. Please post the recipe to something you think even I can cook.
I am begging you! It is no fun being a afraid of my own crockpot.

This one’s pretty easy…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

