LiberryDwarf

August 16, 2010

Monday meme: A reading Meme

Filed under: Books, Memes — liberrydwarf @ 8:29 am

1. Favourite childhood book: That one’s tricky, I read a lot as a child. I think, despite all the latter-day bagging of it for being un-PC, The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton stands out – I remember being absolutely captivated by the wacky (and sometimes jealousy-inducingly wonderful) worlds the tree took them to. Even if it’s rude to call someone Moonface nowadays…

2. What are you reading right now? Sara Paretsky’s latest V.I. Warshawski book Hardball.

3. What books do you have on request at the library? I don’t usually request books at the library – I only use the library to get kids’ books to read to the kids in my Scout group. And usually I’m so disorganised that I’ll rush there just before the meeting, pick up whatever’s around that’s on the theme and go with that!

4. Bad book habit: I carry them in my handbag and so they often get bumped around and will have dents in the covers and on the top and bottom of the spine…

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? See above with kid’s books – I think I have Mrs Armitage Queen of the Road for car night next week, a book I can’t remember about a kid and his plane, and a children’s pictorial atlas of the world.

6. Do you have an e-reader? No, and I don’t think that for recreational reading I ever would.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? Has to be one at a time to keep the momentum and excitement going. I read pretty quickly so it’s not like I have to wait long before moving on, if I’m not 100% “into” something I’m reading.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? Not really. I guess now that I blog I read other blogs, and find out book news and book links for my blog, so it has expanded my wishlist a lot.

9.Least favourite book you read this year: The Anderson Tapes. People who like police procedurals always rave about Lawrence Sanderson, but I couldn’t stand this book – boring, dirty and dated. Couldn’t even finish it.

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year: Oh gosh, I have read SO much this year I couldn’t even begin to guess. Perhaps Confessions of a Werewolf Supermodel? Or The City & The City? Or one of Janet Evanovich’s?

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? If I get something that’s not one of my usual reads, I’ll 9 times out of 10 give it a go anyway.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Stuff Just as my life, this blog is mostly popculture with some feminist rants « Le concert [The Concert] (2009) Reading – Meme Monday Monday, 23. August 2010 [taken from here] […]

    Pingback by Reading – Meme Monday « Stuff — August 23, 2010 @ 8:40 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

