LiberryDwarf

July 23, 2010

Friday Wrap-up: Twitter, Tweaks and Turk’s Heads

Filed under: art, I.T, Librarian — liberrydwarf @ 11:17 am

Last week of (relative) sanity before students come back. A wonderful week for looking at everything you should have done, realising you haven’t done half of it, shrugging and going to the university bar at lunchtime anyway :).

1) One Good Thing: gave a Prezi on Twitter – what it is, how it works, what you can use it for – with Skinnibitch, our workplace’s Marketing/Communications manager, and my boss’s boss’s boss :). It went pretty well (with a couple of minor technical hitches and one audience interruption that nearly threw us), lots of people showed up, and seemed genuinely interested and engaged. I will make TwitterFiends of all librarians, mwahaha!!

2) One Bad Thing: Oh gosh, can I think of one? It’s been a not-too-bad week! I did get back the peer review of an article I submitted to a journal – they want me to make some moderate changes and resubmit. And that means more work. At a sucky time of semester. It’s groan-worthy, if not 100% “bad”…

3) One Thing I Learned: Well, I spent last weekend at scout leader training camp, so the answer to “what I’ve learned” is “OH WOW A LOT FAR TOO MUCH”! 🙂 So I’ll just pick one thing – I learned how to tie a Turk’s Head Knot. Not particularly politically correct, but pretty. It doesn’t have any real practical uses, it’s just decorative. You can do it with two loops, like mine (then it’s called a Gillwell Woggle) or with three. Instructions (not particularly good ones, but you’re all creative people, you’ll work it out) are here

Looking through the centre. You can see the end of the leather I have yet to glue down...

The knot from the side - you can see the braiding more clearly here...

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

