LiberryDwarf

June 8, 2010

Blogging Month Day 8: Friends, Frantic-ness, Facts about iPads and Fundamentalists

Filed under: Comics, Humor, I.T — liberrydwarf @ 9:34 am

Beginning of Week 2: and boy I’m glad it’s June when we’re blogging (so I have time at work to breathe even, let alone spend 15 minutes blogging per day!) I’m hoping you’re not all bored silly by the minutiae of my life!

1) One good thing: last night hubby and I caught up with a good friend of ours for dinner who we’d not seen for a year, at least. Hubby has known this guy since high school, he’s now living in Tassie and at the Maritime college whenever he’s not at sea. He also brought his girlfriend up with him – and I do love meeting the ladies in the lives of “my boys”. Dinner was at a restaurant owned by another friend, and was delicious, we had the place pretty much to ourselves, and it wasn’t too cold a night. Win all round!

2) One bad thing: it’s not such a bad thing, because it’s better than working on ERA rubbish, and it’s got to be done sometimes, but at work the course reading lists for Semester 2 courses started pouring in yesterday. It’s not a bad thing as much as bad timing, since my assistant is off to Europe for 4 weeks tomorrow, and when he gets back it’ll be panic stations for both of us getting everything done. I hate panic stations.

3) One thing I have learned: apparently Apple had the idea for the iPad first, then thought “we could make this a phone too” and turned around to make the iPhone before they did the original iPad idea. (Taken from here – transcript of Steve Jobs interview. It’s quite long, the factoid in question is about halfway down). If anyone can think of a good reason why Apple would have made this decision, please share with the class – because I sure can’t think of one!

4) Today’s link: (Okay, so it’s a webcomic episode, not a link. Sue me.) My Twitter friends (and quite a few RL ones too) have been eBook reader mad lately – so this one’s for you guys (via xkcd.com)

Book Burning

2 Comments »

  1. heh heh heh 🙂

    Comment by Penny — June 8, 2010 @ 4:21 pm

  2. As an iphone and ipad user, I have a pretty good idea. My iphone feels sad and small now compared to my ipad and I prefer to do most tasks on the ipad. I am thinking of the iphone as a portable ipad, rather than the ipad as a large iphone.

    If the ipad came first, I am not sure that I would have bothered with the iphone.

    Also, the iphone got us all used to the interface and primed for the ipad. AND – when the ipad launched there was already a huge stable of aps and ap developers waiting to create for it…something that definitely helped to sell the larger device… I think the “phoneness” of the iphone was the gateway drug to the new interface.

    Comment by Kathryn Greenhill — June 8, 2010 @ 6:42 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

