LiberryDwarf

August 19, 2009

“These are a few of my favourite things…”

Filed under: Books, Education, Just Plain Weird, music, YouTube — liberrydwarf @ 5:57 pm

Three things I like a lot this week:

  • Blackadder. Just bought a box set, about half-way through Blackadder II. I cannot remember laughing quite so much ever, nobody on the planet does comedy like the Brits did it back in the day.
  • My cat, who finally was useful for the first time in his life and woke me up in perfect timing today so I wasn’t late for work.
  • That I impressed everyone I saw “Public Enemies” with with my awesome knowledge of J.Edgar Hoover’s cross-dressing predilections.

Three things I hate a lot this week:

  • We have these cute vanity plates here in Australia which are designed to mimic cool European plates. I hate when people get them put on their Japanese cars. You have missed the point, my friends…
  • That my new keyboard is a bit unsure about what you want to do with quotation marks, and won’t put them in until you’ve typed the next character, so you put in “quotes”and you miss out all the space keys afterwards so you look stupid. See above.
  • New frickin’ WordPress. What was wrong with the last dashboard screen, why is it now five times as many clicks to post?

There you go. All I need to do now is find a melody, and Julie Andrews eat your heart out…

Here are this week’s links. Needless to say I love them!

1) Another “100 books you should read before you kick it” list. I have personally read 16 off here (it’s mostly an American lit list – knew it was worth taking American lit class!) and I think that’s better than I did on the TLS list, but I’d be interested to know if anyone out there has read lots more than that…

2) I often complain that we run dumb programs at my institution. (Being in charge of teaching research for hospitality and recreational tourism research, and buying books about the economics of running a day spa, you might see why…) These courses blur the line between “that’s the dumbest thing I ever heard” and “that’s the coolest thing I ever heard”. And you know you pretty much wish you could take all of them…

3) Youtube = could this be the greatest (most unlikely perhaps but greatest) mashup ever? Both my mother and I like it for different reasons – it WOULD make long car trips with her easier…

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve read a depressing 15 of the books on the list… *lesigh*

    Comment by kalafudra — August 26, 2009 @ 3:46 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

