LiberryDwarf

May 20, 2008

“If we do what is necessary, all the odds are in our favor….”

Filed under: art, Books, Kittens, News Articles, YouTube — liberrydwarf @ 9:20 pm

I saved a guy’s life at the university bus-stop today. At least I think I did… Some old guy collapses just as the bus is pulling up. Now, half the students start boarding the bus. The other half (minus the two nice guys who caught this old man as he was falling) stand there dumbly. So yes, that leaves the short, terribly unfit and high-heel-wearing librarian to run for the security guards. Which I did (and if I’d heeded my own advice and taken the damn heels of, I would have done it a lot quicker) and ambulances were called and interesting-looking medical things were applied. Karma tells me that I did the right thing, because my bus waited for me as I tottered to the rescue. Yay! Gotta love when that happens. But damn it, SHOULD I HAVE LOST THE HEELS?? Would it be wrong to ring every hospital in the city with a vague story about a collapsed-at-the-bus-shelter old guy to try and find out if he made it or not??

If you need me, I’ll be over in the corner having a mini ethical crisis while you check out your weekly links… *whimpers*…

1) Tonight’s first link is for my sister, who was grouchy with me after she told me all about her new anchor tatt (“it grounds me”, she says) and I told her it made her look like a sailor’s doxie. If you’re going to get a tatt, get something classy, folks. Damn thing’s with you forever, so get something you’re going to like waking up and looking at in the mirror. May YuppiePunk’s “(Not So) Complete History of Literary Tattoos” provide you with some good ideas (or at least something interesting to gawk at if you are, like me, not of the body art persuasion…

2) Last week I brought you a news story from my home town. One I thought couldn’t be topped for sheer stupidity. Lucky for me (or not-quite-so-lucky, depending on your perspective) our Kiwi mates from over the strait have obliged with a doozy of a dodo-brain for you this week. A little known fact is that our state of Queensland is the only state in Australia where alcohol cannot be accepted as a form of currency – apparently in New Zealand, they have slightly different worries…

3) Finally, this week’s vid blends two of the most wonderful (and yes, at times, most freakishly weird) things in the world – Bjork and cats! A fun little cat-lover’s video, well done…

1 Comment »

  1. […] A few weeks ago when I brought you Literary Tattoos, I discovered I’d only just tapped the tip of the iceberg! Discover more body art for the […]

    Pingback by ‘I never think that people die. They just go to department stores…” « LiberryDwarf — July 2, 2008 @ 12:50 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

