LiberryDwarf

April 22, 2008

“Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert.”

Filed under: Animals, Books, I.T, Librarian, YouTube — liberrydwarf @ 7:58 pm

This week has been all about stretching myself, flexing my Liberrian muscles. I COULD get someone else to help that student looking for information on organic chemicals. Little Miss Classics-Graduate-Turned-Economics-Librarian COULD do that, yeah. Or she COULD do the hard yards, spend a half-hour looking for online organic chemistry dictionaries, swear, make coffee, look it all up on Wikipedia so she knows what the words mean and then point them back to the online organic chemistry dictionary because it happened to be right in the first place. Yeah, I feel way smart now. Me likey this email reference thing – no pressure, time to think, so weird eye contact or awful interruptive ring tones. Plus, reference interview + emoticons = yay!! I’ve had a play with everything from tartaric acid (well, information on tartaric acid. The real thing would be fun though) to Pliny’s letters. Not case law though. I have my standards.

Anyhoo, Super-Reference-Expert-Hottie is taking a break to bring you YOUR links this week. HOW LUCKY ARE YOU!!!!

1) I’ve been trying out a new search interface for search engines this week: EcoCho. What’s the deal? For every search you do on this search engine, the site builds up carbon credits which it converts to planting trees [allegedly!] They used to give you a choice between Google and Yahoo (with Yahoo earning you double carbon credits) but Google has pulled the plug on them. Why would you do this instead of just searching Yahoo? Or using your Firefox Google Widget, which is way easier? Guilt free karma points, perhaps. Or the happy little tree man on the homepage. Is he a tree or an olive? Or both? Or because Australians finally invented something that didn’t involve alcohol (at least not visibly. But I guess they did invent EcoOliveHead there…)

EcoOliveHead...or at least that's what I'm calling him...

Can you argue with that?

2) Book lists are always popular when I put them up here – and this one I was kind of surprised (and a bit embarrassed) I hadn’t worked my way through much at all… here are The Twenty Science Fiction Novels that Will Change Your Life.  *Sigh* and just when my BookMooch wishlist was getting kind of manageable…

3) Finally, a bit of fun – I love things that make Australians look not-quite-so-dumb-as-the-rest-of-the-world… tonight it’s Britain’s turn. Yes indeedy, Britain’s Got Talent, folks. Or Britain’s Got Ferrets. Which all adds up to the same thing, really… Actually, it’s somewhat Ironic, Britain’s Got Talent features freaked-out ferrets, Australia’s Got Talent features Danni Minogue… the similarities are striking!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

